Fantasy, Young Adult

The Girl and The Grove: Sometimes It’s Good to Listen to the Voices in Your Head

**This Review is in no way an endorsement of the author unless specifically stated so**

TGATG_5.24.18

**If I ever miss a Trigger warning you think should be included, comment here or email me the one I missed and I will add it immediately to the post**

Trigger Warnings: Sickness; Hospitals; Racism; Violence; Intolerance; Vomit; Animal Death; Death

 

Series: The Girl and The Grove

Publication date: May, 8 2018

Publisher: Flux

Genre: Young Adult.

Page Count: 362

 

Synopsis: Teenager Leila’s life is full of challenges. From bouncing around the foster care system to living with seasonal affective disorder, she’s never had an easy road. Leila keeps herself busy with her passion for environmental advocacy, monitoring the Urban Ecovists message board and joining a local environmental club with her best friend Sarika. And now that Leila has finally been adopted, she dares to hope her life will improve.

But the voices in Leila’s head are growing louder by the day. Ignoring them isn’t working anymore. Something calls out to her from the grove at Fairmount Park.

 

The_Review

(warning: this review contains spoilers and sensitive content) 

Hello, you wondrous little creatures.

So my friend Mars gave me a few books when I went to visit them over the weekend and one of the book they gave me was The Girl and The Grove by Eric Smith.

Now, Eric is my dream agent for my #PiedPiperRetelling so I pounced at the opportunity to read his book. And once I fully got into it (on May 2…3rd? I think?) I could not put it down.

I finished the book that night and I need more. 

This book had everything I needed.

It was lovely and emotional and hilarious.

Leila is everything I could have asked for in a MC. She’s funny and witty and sarcastic. She’s emotional and she’s angry and she’s defensive. She loves nature almost violently and she’s so so so so sweet.

And Sarika. Oh my good lord Sarika. I LOVED HER.

She’s me in every since of the word. She’s witty and she’s angry and violent and protective. She’s not afraid to stand up for herself and she’s so gentle and kind to those she loves.

She even threatens to sit on an espresso machine with a crossbow to protect her best friend. I mean, I could freaking feel myself in every word she said. I haven’t connected to a character as much as Sarika since Juliette Ferras.

And the writing. I could sit at this laptop for days and write about how much I adore Eric’s writing. It’s so beautiful and so entrancing.

And the way Leila talks about feeling broken? That fucking moved me. I love Leila with every fiber of my being and I will protect her with all 5’1″ of my tiny rage.

Honestly, though, I love this book so much that I can’t even accurately put it into words.

Maybe I’ll try again some day.

 

(5-Star Rating)

 

Yeah, that’s right, I said 5 STAR

 

 

The Signature

 

Would I recommend?

Yes yes yes yes yes yes. 1000x YES.

 

For a review from someone who this book represents, check out this amazing review by Utopia State of Mind.

Leave a comment